Is it SCT is it ADD it isn’t just ME

He’s Wide awake yet drowsy

He sits to read a book with much enthusiasm yet a sentence into the story a powerful lethargy swoops over him

He plots a tale and his eyes are heavy and he can feel the loooong and lugubrious brain waves, the sluggish cognitive tempo, all of this in a fully wake state of mind

“I want to get on with it; to write, read, and enjoy whatever I consume,” he exhales frustrated, draws a breath “but it’s like some entity is sucking the energy out of me.”

To some extent; he has found ways to battle the dreaded Lethargy:

“I put on some brilliant high tempo music, admittedly it has to be just right, and I can just feel my brain waves becoming more excited; I can feel the Energy Vampire shriek and run as I become more and more invigorated!”

As an Aspie, the solution is welcome, but it is something he cannot take into a place of work or study.

“Yeah – it’s a funny ol’ thing! Imagine drinking an inordinate amount of coffee and still dozing off – hopeless.”

**

Psychiatrists have been trying to figure out what defines Sluggish Cognitive Tempo (SCT). They need to know, among other things, if SCT is just Inattentive ADHD (ADHD-PI) with a coexisting diagnosis of Anxiety and/or Depression and also if SCT is otherwise different from ADHD. They are trying to determine if people who are primarily inattentive need to be removed from the ADHD category all together and be placed in a separate category. –
[http://www.primarilyinattentiveadd.com/2012/03/is-sluggish-cognitive-tempo-sct.html?m=1]

**

The music which he describes as his Audio Medicine:

Band:
And So I Watch You From Afar
Album:
And So I Watch You From Afar

Band:
Bring Me The Horizon
Album:
Suicide Season

Band:
Bullet For My Valentine
Songs:
Hand of blood, tears don’t fall, the poison, hearts burst into fire

“Or generally whichever music gets my heart pumping.”

Leave a Reply

